Home » Arthurian Junk » Sir Gareth of Orkney

Sir Gareth of Orkney

At some point in my life I want to take a legend and rework for my self and I guess make it something more in my style of prose. I have a feeling that if I do this, it will be Arthur and his knights, and more specially Sir Gareth. After all one of most beloved stories are those of Le Morte d’Arthur, it might be sad, but I think Arthur has had a nice little effect on my life. I grew up with him, took adventures of sorts with him. When I first read the Tale of Sir Gareth I really grew to love the character. I rallied for him as he fought against the various colored knights. Even with the sharp tongue of Lady Lynette against him. I kind of sympathized with him, and had wishes that something would teach the (prude?) Lady a lesson

I smiled when Knights removed themselves to a table desperate from Lynette and dined with Gareth. When Puce and Indigo Knights swore allegiance to him and promise to go before Arthur stating who had sent them. I smiled when Lyonesse saw Gareth out her window and swooned. I was angry with him when his dwarf Melot was taken. I felt the sparks in the air when he joined in the tournament as the knight of many colors. Where he would fight all but Lancelot, he who had knighted him. I saw him struggle (as all men do) when Lyonesse came to him late at night, and had not Lynette saved him from that. I read his stories as a child fascinated by knights and dragons, and damsels (who most often were in distress). I didn’t read it a critic, and someday I fear that they will ruin the story for me.

Which is why I think there are times as I was stating that I truly want to someday rewrite a legend, that I feel fits today’s culture. I do think that we hope for knights like Gareth. Who go on a quest no questions asked to their saving their Lyonesses (who perhaps don’t need saving). Not all ladies are damsels in distress, and I think Lynette proves that clearly. So I hope to someday tell a story of swords crossing paths and a quiet young lady looking out her tower’s window in hopes of seeing a deliverer. And of a young man who though a noble works in a kitchen for a year and jump at the chance to save another, just for the adventure.

Tales of Knights who served God and King inspire I think. Tales that all too often are not told any more. I’ve seen way too many Anti-Heroes, and heard too many stories of men who serve themselves. I want more tales (even if they seems cliche) of typical heroes (and heroines) who save the day, just to save it. Soon, hopefully, I can tell a tale of a Hero. If not, maybe I can just find ones of heroes I have yet to meet.

Everyone should read Le Morte d’Arthur once. They should read the good and the bad knights, of those who deserve their honor and of those who do not. But read them like a kid, not as a critic of everything.

– Le Bel Inconnu

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers