Home » Creative Writing » Reflecting Mirror. . .

Reflecting Mirror. . .

Do you see that mirror hanging before me? It is of ancient made and can tell the soul of any one man, but once you have seen it… you can never escape it. Oh that you would not show me, my most inward being. I am tired of looking at the various scratches and cracks that you love to bring forth. Yet as I look toward you I find that I cannot pull myself away I am drawn closer and closer into this dreaded mirror hanging before me. Reflecting, reflecting… I wonder, as I stand, why are my inner thoughts brought forth into life?

It is the past I see, a task you see I too often know that I do. Yet like this mirror, I simply cannot neglect, my thoughts have gone rampant. When left alone I can almost go anywhere for what can stall me when my thoughts prefer me looking in this place I call the past. I took look at the mirror and oh how the past was highlighted and Oh the things I remembered, those that I knew I had missed, but did not, but wish that I did have to recollect. Yet here they are despite my protest, my complaints, oh yes my muttering cry. This mirror of mine always reflecting, reflecting… For God up above in fury has swore me into this, this piece of Hell.

I did not have times with friends, times of memories, times I dearly loved for in this year, oh yes this little year I found that I could but not. So here I stand, give me your hand, and let’s walk down another path. You and me down this simple path away from that mirror of mine for its always reflecting. I have tire of the days of yesteryear those I do not wish to dwell upon. Yet if I stay right here, these reflections would keep harking to me. So we walk and far past my mirror we go. At one point we come upon a lake and there once more I found my reflection staring right back at me. A thought occurred to me, Can I not escape? That simple reflection that is so strong, and I hear my heart quiver. A quick pitter-patter of fear and I secretly wish that I might find a cave. Dark and gloomy, but most of all no reflections, no reflecting…

And therein I take a swift hold of your hand. Grasping it tightly, for I know that I can trust you, but… I dare not let go. For who but knows what I should do if we were to become separate. Then with legs of most haste we run, hand in hand, and flee this path. I think Off the path must surely be better, but I know deep down inside, I am but a fool. Yet… yet here I am running with you in hand. The ancient path was nice, the well beaten one nicer, but now there is no path. I have taken you with me into the heart of this forest. I see a smile on your face, I know not why. That smile its slightly hunting, what is it you are thinking? I ask, you do not answer. Why must you make these words of mine come out? Words reflect… words hurt, they sting, I hate them! I hate these words that your smile bring forth. I don’t want to speak my inner thoughts, and yet you say slightly I cannot stay with one so quiet and still.

Do you realize what words do to me? They build but so often they break down, do I always have to be so humbled? I take each word hurled at me and I do not take them with a grain of salt. They were said for a reason, did I fail, did I really miss something? I am sorry I did not mean to, forgive me I was just Naïve, was that really so dumb of me to speak? Look at me, show interest in me, I cannot speak much, get rid of that smile. Would you instead would you give me a chance to be strong? You start to back away and pulling your hand out of mine shouting Speak!

I cannot and you know it, but you still have that smile. Words come naturally to you, they’re slow to me. I stutter I really do, nervousness or tiredness, my tongue starts to cling. Reflecting, reflecting my inabilities that so often surround me. I cannot speak tis true, nor, nor can I say these words to you. My inner thoughts remain inner in this forest of memories and reflections. You start to go, and I know, tears rolling down, I know that you did not love me. I did not mean my love to be any sort of love, nay I meant it… I meant it to be strong, everlasting. Do I really know what love is, most likely not, but here’s my hand. I keep it outstretched, for I am in love with you. I see you fading and my most fear event didst just happen and all I can do is remain, hand out.

You pierced my heart all because I did not speak and I know that the fault was my own. You loved me, but you truly did not love me. Or instead, could it be said that I have all of this backwards. I loved you, but my lack of response showed that I truly did not. But it is never that simple and I have grown up far too fast. So I begin to walk back and yes, you know, wherever you did go, that I head back toward my mirror. I lost the one I loved, so why should I run from the one I hate? So here I go, plunging myself in, I am ready for whatever befalls me, I will accept this gloom… Why not? For in my heart, my precious heart I am alone. I am reflecting, reflecting, reflecting… My being is all but dried up, it is a desert, but all I wanted was just was stream.

I stand before a mirror, it is of ancient made and can tell the soul of any one man, but once you have seen it… you can never escape it. Those that I thought I had loved, I have abandoned, my journey I have closed its chapter. Come mirror show me your fury. Surely it cannot be liken to a woman’s scorn, surely Hell hath a better fury. I see the past within you and I see my faults within you, and I feel my tears running down. My tears of embarrassment, those awkward moments I seem to invite in… I see my tears of ignorance when I have spoken so often when it would have been better if I had stayed my tongue. Tears that mingle with memories of times I thought I truly was right, but everyone around me… they were against me. Oh or the tears when I speak words I thought were good… but instead I hear laughter or see faces that betrayed my feelings.

Why should I speak oh my evil mirror? Why should I remember these awkward moments in my life? A wave misplace, a greeting meant for another? Rewards for another, so often never for a loner. Mirror why must your reflections sting my being? Can I never be right, can I not avoid the situations I bring myself in. Do I lack wisdom and sense? Who have I failed to the point of no return? I see a stone at my feet and an evil thought did just creep… I smile, oh how I smile and I pick that stone up. Mirror, Mirror whose the fairest in the land? It begins to shadow and in that moment my arm springs forth. Shatter, shatter, glass all over me, cutting me here, and also there, blood oozing.

I begin to shout to let my words out. I don’t care what those around me may think, I will speak when I can and let my lips be sealed otherwise. I cannot change as you would have me, and I… I will no longer try. The shattering mirror pierces me deep, but your lack of love pierced all the deeper. To Hell with you and your dreams, may they burn there in all of eternity. I am standing here, and I know that I care not of you anymore. I open my hand, my palm open and I stretch it out into the flowing glass… Come take my hand if you really love me, take it now… I will love you back as much as one can, I promise you but that. For I know that when shattering glass is done I will know who is the fairest in the land. For they will be standing there, where my evil mirror was, for me.

So here’s my hand being torn to shreds, I have spoken and I have reflected I’m all done now…

– Le Bel Inconnu

1 Comment

  1. Is this the soul’s lament regarding what may be the Achilles heel of your life as well as your strongest point? You have a gift in reflection Matt… your mind can hold that sort of concentration far deeper than most.. Maybe you will always struggle with over-thinking and expression… praise be to God because then you will always have to stay close to Him, in Him, with Him… to see yourself through Him. I think your soul is obtaining stigmata. If you can let the truth pierce your heart like His hand, I think you will become part of the mirror, a shard to shatter others. This is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers